Reading to Live a Thousand Lives
Dark Lover

Dark Lover PDF Free Download

Dark Lover PDF is the first book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, written by Jessica Bird under the pseudonym J.R. Ward. It was first published by Signet Eclipse, an imprint of Penguin Group, on September 6, 2005.

The novel has received mostly positive reviews, with many readers praising the unique take on the vampire genre and the complex characters. The book has a 4.3 rating on Goodreads, with over 300,000 ratings and more than 19,000 reviews. The New York Times also praised the book, stating that it “hits the jackpot” with its “tough-talking, fast-paced, [and] darkly erotic” story.

The main themes of Dark Lover are love, loyalty, and sacrifice. The story follows the romance between Beth Randall, a human journalist, and Wrath, the last purebred vampire left on Earth. Along the way, they face numerous obstacles, including the wrath of the vampire society and the dangerous enemies that threaten their lives. Dark Lover is available in various formats, including paperback, hardcover, audiobook, and e-book.

Who is J.R. Ward?

J.R. Ward, the author of Dark Lover and the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, is a bestselling American author. She was born in Massachusetts in 1969 and began writing at a young age. She attended Smith College, where she earned a degree in History and Art History, and later received her law degree from Albany Law School.

Dark Lover

Before becoming a full-time writer, Ward worked as a lawyer and spent several years in healthcare administration. She began writing romance novels under her birth name, Jessica Bird and published several standalone novels before turning her attention to paranormal romance.

Under the pen name J.R. Ward, she has published numerous books in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, as well as other paranormal romance series. Her books have sold millions of copies and have been translated into multiple languages.

Ward is known for her unique take on the vampire genre, creating a rich and complex world filled with dynamic characters and intricate plotlines. She has received several awards for her writing, including the 2009 Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award for Best Vampire Romance for Lover Avenged.


The story begins with a prologue that sets the tone for the book, introducing us to the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, a group of powerful vampire warriors who protect their race from their enemies, the Lessers.

The story then shifts to the main character, Beth Randall, a journalist who is unaware of the supernatural world around her. One night, she is attacked by a group of Lessers, but she is saved by a mysterious figure who quickly disappears. This figure is revealed to be Wrath, the last purebred vampire left on Earth.

Wrath is the leader of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, and he is tasked with training a new member, Darius. However, Darius is killed by the Lessers before he can be fully trained, leaving Wrath feeling guilty and alone. He is also dealing with his own personal struggles, including his reluctance to take on his role as the rightful king of the vampire race.

When Beth’s path crosses with Wrath’s once again, he feels a strong connection to her and is drawn to her. However, he knows that he should stay away from her as he is a vampire and she is a human. Despite this, the two begin a passionate romance, navigating the dangers that come with their relationship and the threat of the Lessers.

Series In Order

“Dark Lover” is the first book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward, writing under the pen name Jessica Bird. Here is the Black Dagger Brotherhood series in order:

  1. Dark Lover (2005)
  2. Lover Eternal (2006)
  3. Lover Awakened (2006)
  4. Lover Revealed (2007)
  5. Lover Unbound (2007)
  6. Lover Enshrined (2008)
  7. Lover Avenged (2009)
  8. Lover Mine (2010)
  9. Lover Unleashed (2011)
  10. Lover Reborn (2012)
  11. Lover at Last (2013)
  12. The King (2014)
  13. The Shadows (2015)
  14. The Beast (2016)
  15. The Chosen (2017)
  16. The Thief (2018)
  17. The Savior (2019)
  18. The Sinner (2020)
  19. Lover Unveiled (2021)

Multiple Languages Editions of Dark Lover Book

Dark Lover by J.R. Ward is available in various languages including English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, and Portuguese. The availability of different language editions may vary depending on the country and publisher.

Book EditionsCheck Now
EnglishCheck Price
SpanishCheck Price
PortugueseCheck Price

Download Dark Lover PDF Online

Click on the download button below to get a pdf file of the Dark Lover book.

Other Similar Books

  • Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost
  • Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
  • Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning
  • The Immortal Hunter by Lynsay Sands
  • Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris
  • Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton
  • A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole
Join the discussion